2019 Recovery Funds

2019 Disasters

On December 3, 2019, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development’s (HUD) issued an initial allocation of $212,741,000 in Community Development Block Grant Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) funding. On January 6, 2021, HUD announced an addition allocation of $14,769,000 bringing the total allocation to $227,510,000.

Texas Severe Storms and Flooding (DR-4454) Counties Impacted:

  • Cameron
  • Hidalgo
  • Willacy


Texas Tropical Storm Imelda (DR-4466) Counties Impacted:

  • Chambers
  • Harris
  • Jefferson
  • Liberty
  • Montgomery
  • Orange
  • San Jacinto

The state action plan includes the following:

2019 Disasters

  • $227.51 million allocation
  • At least 80 percent of the allocation must address unmet needs in the HUD-designated Most Impacted and Distressed (HUD MID) counties.
  • At least 70% of total funds must be used for activities benefiting low- and moderate-income (LMI) persons.
  • Ten CDBG-DR Eligible Counties:
    • HUD MID: Cameron, Chambers, Harris, Hidalgo, Jefferson, Liberty, Montgomery, and Orange
    • State MID: San Jacinto, and Willacy
  • The total allocation must be expended in six years.


GLO programs to administer and oversee:  

  1. Homeowner Assistance Program ($98.91 million): Provides funding for rehabilitation and reconstruction of owner-occupied single-family homes damage by the 2019 disasters for flooding in the Lower Rio Grande Valley and by Tropical Storm Imelda.
  2. Homeowner Reimbursement Program ($10.84 million): Provides funding for eligible expenses and Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster home loans incurred by homeowners for repairs to a primary residence prior to application for these funds. Up to $50,000 per household may be reimbursed.
  3. Affordable Rental Program ($31.55 million): Provides funding rehabilitation, reconstruction, and new construction of affordable multifamily housing projects. The GLO allocated program funds to address unmet rental needs in counties impacted by the flooding Lower Rio Grande Valley or Tropical Storm Imelda. Maximum award is $10 million per development.
  4. Infrastructure Competition ($61.43 million): The Infrastructure Competition will provide disaster relief, long-term recovery, and restoration of infrastructure for local communities. Each applicant may submit a total of two applications, whether applying as the lone applicant or jointly with another jurisdiction(s). Each application must consist of one project. Minimum award is $250,000 and maximum award is $1,000,000.
  5. Local, Regional and State Planning ($11.37 million): Provides funding for regional and statewide planning studies and tools that work to reduce risks and impacts of future disasters.